Following Back on Twitter

I’m just writing this blog entry to share my personal viewpoint on why you should follow people back on Twitter.

1) Becoming part of the community.

If you don’t follow back how can you interact with the community about things that they are talking about. It’s like shutting yourself off to everything that doesn’t pertain to you. Sure you can wait until they talk to you so you can respond but conversation is a two way street and unless you follow back you’re just a bystander waiting for engagement.

2) Respect

Why should I follow you and listen to you if you don’t follow me and listen to me? I feel that shows that you think you have something more important to say than I do and I feel that a social community is about sharing and being part of each others worlds.

3) Communication

You cut off the ability to receive DM’s from your followers. This limits personal interaction with your audience. It just makes sense to let people in within this medium

These are my three main points for following back on Twitter. There are many many more dependent on your end goals of course. I truly believe that unless you are following people back that you aren’t taking full advantage of the possibilities of engagement in the social media realm. I of course would love to hear your opinions and thoughts on this topic.

All the best,
Scott

5 Responses to “Following Back on Twitter”

  1. laurawynn Says:

    Bravo. #3 is especially hard for me to get clients to understand.

    • Definitely. Most clients treat social media in the same way they treat email and interruption marketing. I believe they are missing the biggest part of the success of social media.

  2. I definitely agree, but because I use mine for personal use I tend to only follow people back whom have interesting things to say (original tweets). If I find that a user is mainly RT ing (unless they’re awesome RT’s) or advertising, I tend to refrain from following back or interacting. I refuse to be spammed. I follow a lot of people, and I enjoy the fact that 95% of it are all real people pumping out real thoughts.

    Crap, I love Twitter.

  3. On point one: Building relationships is super important, I agree. For me, I only follow people I’m –really really– interested in. I create lists for other people who may be in the same industry but don’t provide quality content consistently enough to follow. I check these lists often and make an effort to engage with them.

    On point two: In my opinion, following back isn’t an intrinsic propert of Twitter. I follow many people on Twitter in different industries for many different reasons. I follow many VCs, like Fred Wilson, but I’m no where near that world — I’m just interested in it. Why would i expect Fred to follow me back? I wouldn’t.

    On point three: DMs are important and I think there’s a different answer for personal VS corporate. Twitter is working on corporate accounts that will allow DM interaction without the need for following (so I hear). I think this is going to make the decision of ‘do I follow everyone or don’t I?’ decision for a company much easier.

  4. Agreed. #3 is an especially valid point.

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

