Is Bestbuy really the best buy?

I know that this is a little off my regular topics but I have recently purchased a plasma TV from Bestbuy (Actually the Minnetonka MN location). I was very excited to say the least, as I have never owned a large flat panel TV before. So I went to Bestbuy as they seemed to have the best selection in the area, and talked to a salesman. He seemed to know his stuff and assured me that it had all of the features that I wanted and would even give me a deal on it. So I was very happy and arranged for a larger vehicle (as I own a very small car) and brought it home.

A couple of days later I went to hook this up to my computer and discovered that the salesman had apparently made a mistake and it doesn’t have the connection that hooks up to the computer. I had specifically told the salesperson that I wanted to use this TV for this purpose before I purchased, so I was a little disgruntled. I called the store and explained my situation and all they told me was that I could get a TV that had these features (The ones I thought I had already purchased) for an extra $200 and I would have to repackage the TV bring it back and go pick up the new one. I explained that I had to borrow a vehicle for the first one and as I just moved here and really don’t know anyone moving it by myself would be next to impossible. Then I asked why I had to pay an extra $200 to get the TV I thought I had at home. They responded with the statement “People do make mistakes you know!” and still insisted that it was my responsibility to bring this back.

I guess my questions are: Why are we paying for a companies lack of product education? Why do our lives become inconvenienced because of this lack of education? and when did good customer service end up replaced by effective crisis control that lets you nowhere near any management?

Anyway, now that I have finished my rant on Bestbuy check out Twitter. It’s a cool social networking tool that allows you to contact your end readers through cell phone. Check out the new mediapirate twitter account at http://twitter.com/mediapirate and sign up to get mediapirate updates.

– Scott

Leave a Reply

